Is this really what I want to do with the rest of my life?!

Hi All!

Hope you’re doing well!

Ob/Gyn was my third rotation here in Walla Walla and it’s been a very interesting experience. I walked into the rotation extremely unsure of myself, and in retrospect, I think I was having a mid-med school crisis. This was it. The big rotation. It was finally here, what I had thought I’d wanted to do since high school. I had built it up so much in my head and I was so afraid of failing, that I struggled so much in the beginning.

The docs that I worked with were two were male physicians, who had been doing this for a number of years and a female was fresh out of residency. One of the physicians challenged me a lot and I learned a ton. I felt like this was the rotation where I grew immensely.

Why it’s AWESOME: Lots of procedures (IUD, Nexplanon, C-Sections, Hysterectomies, Tubals, Cystectomies, etc.)

Why it’s TOUGH: High emotions, High stress, High risk!

There was one experience I would like to share with all of you. We were in the OR and I was assisting with a cystectomy. The procedure was laproscopic, though it did need a uterine manipulator. When the procedure was done, I got to close the laproscopic incisions and do the final speculum exam to check the cervix. Everything was going well; I was calm the whole time, sutured the incisions well, and found the cervix (yay!) no problem. It was then that the unthinkable happened. As I was unscrewing the speculum (it was one I had never used before) to take it out, and I went too far and dropped the screw in the bag of urine down below. It was terrible! I felt like such an idiot. We had to drain the urine and my preceptor had to reach in and grab the screw for me. 😦

But then I stopped to think about what had just happened, I kept calm and did not harm to the patient. My sutures and speculum exam were on par with what the physician wanted. That’s when I realized how much I enjoyed using my hands.

And as the weeks went on, things just got better. I got to help deliver over 7 babies vaginally, help with a ton of hysterectomies, c-sections, and other procedures. I got over the “eww” factor with time and was able to view everything I did as helping mom and baby!

So, maybe I do want to do this for the rest of my life. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

