Munchkins!

Hello All!

My last rotation for 2015 was Pediatrics. This was probably one of the best rotations I’ve had–my preceptor was not only engaging and enthusiastic about having a student–he was also calm and thoughtful. He asked me tons of questions throughout the rotation, he even wrote up a dermatology quiz just for me! He also invited me to join his family for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful.

Peds is awesome. The kids are sweet, parents are (mostly) easy to work with, and the doctors are all unbelievably compassionate. I’ve also seen some interesting pathology–Trisomy 21, hypospadias, holoprosencephaly, scabies, seizures, Rubinstein-Taybi, the list goes on… There have also been some really tough cases. We had a patient come in for a sexual assault workup a week ago, she was only five years old. 😦

I guess with the good comes the bad and it’s up to us what we choose to focus on. I will walk away from this rotation remembering that five year old girl forever; but I will also remember the child who came in for an ADHD work up and gave me a huge hug, the adopted 21 month old from Asia who blew me a kiss to say goodbye, the parent who came back to clinic the day after her son’s appoint to thank me for making him feel comfortable, and the preceptor who treated me like a daughter.

Last week, two foster sisters (1 Caucasian, 1 African American) came into clinic and were so intrigued to see a dark-skinned female greeting them (their foster mother pointed this out to me). As I got to know them and their history, I shared a little about myself and my journey. I told them that they can do anything they set their mind to, no matter what their home life is like. We talked about loving ourselves and accepting our flaws and having the courage to reach our potential. It was a good lesson for me, because it is so easy for me to tell myself that I’m not good enough or that I’m not going to succeed. I guess when we love ourselves, we can be our best selves and help others feel loved too. So, in honor of them and all children (at heart) everywhere, a quote from the most famous doctor of all time:

Remember, you’ll move mountains and YOU are worth it!

Have a great holiday season!

Priya

Leave a Reply

