Internal Medicine – Inpatient

Hello All!

Hope you are all doing well. I recently finished my inpatient IM rotation. It was awesome. We have locum hospitalists who come to Walla Walla and stay for a week at a time, living at the hospital and then having a week off. I worked closely with 2 doctors (they kept switching off) and had a great time. The lifestyle seems great–I just know it’s not for me–I wish I could be disciplined all the time, but if I had a week off, I would probably not go to the gym and eat a ton of junk food… imagine if that was every other week?!

Anyhoo… Got to see some incredible things: like an infected pannus (it was huge, like a third leg), GI bleeds, strokes, ACS, alcohol withdrawal and toxicity, possible poisoning by spouse (probably not, but we hypothesized…), vancomycin rash, bowel obstruction, CHF exacerbation, COPD exacerbation, idiopathic chorea, lots of falls, sepsis, and cardiac cath procedures (our cardiologist let me get gowned up too!).

I saw a patient pass away from iatrogenic causes 😦 sometimes medicine can do so much harm!

I also got to help with a peds case–we had a newborn with congenital diaphragmatic hernia and lung hypoplasia. I got to help with resuscitation, putting in an umbilical art/vein cath, and shipping him out to a NICU in Spokane. I think he’s doing OK. This case was intense; I was really lucky that the nurses told me to go check it out and that I got to help out with it.

Our hospital also has a daily care conference where the doctor, nurses, social worker, outpatient scheduler, home health, and other coordinators all meet for an hour to discuss each patient and the next steps in the care. It’s a great way to touch base and ensure that no patient falls through the cracks, especially as hospital work has shift changes (the docs, nurses, etc)!

My next rotation is surgery, and to be honest, I’m scared and excited. I’m really looking forward to using my hands (hopefully my preceptor lets me do more than just hold retractors). Plus I’ve got a new preceptor…. so it’ll be an adventure for us both! Wish me luck!! 🙂

Have a great week and happy valentine’s day!

-Priya

Leave a Reply

