EKG Basics

You give me premature ventricular contractions – Emma, No Strings Attached (film)

I was never really confident reading EKGs. But after one week and 300+ EKGs later, I can finally say, without a doubt, that I can read an EKG on my own! One small step as med student in training, one big step for future Dr. Jenny!

Most of you are probably much better at reading EKGs than I am, but I just wanted to make this video as a short refresher. Plus I might need to look back on it some time in the future … I regret not making a radiology video when the material was still fresh. So I always have to go back and read Priya’s blog post. Hope you all enjoy!

Short overview incase you couldn’t catch it in the video:

1. Is the patient in Sinus Rhythm? – Check for positive P waves in leads II, III, aVF
2. Heart Rate
3. Axis deviation – Check leads I & aVF
4. Left Anterior Fascicular Block? – Check lead II
5. P wave + PR intervals – are they long? are they short?
6. QRS complex – are they wide? more than 3 small boxes?
7. ST/T wave changes

I hope that helps. I wanted to read more samples of EKGs but then this video would be a bajillion hours long.

Leave a Reply

