An Ode to EDC

Image result for calvin and hobbes quotes on life

In two weeks we will be reunited. I can so clearly recall sitting in BHH writing my very first blog post and being so excited for EDC to form and to start clinical rotations. We had no idea what the future had in store at that time and will soon be in that same spot of unfamiliarity.

I, for one, am freaked out about starting residency. Instead of the “struggle” being real, I think a more apt phrase would be “the anxiety is real.” We are going to be (limited) licensed physicians. Prescribing medications and ordering labs and imaging on someone else’s family members, complete strangers, and everyone in between. Thank gravy I won’t be doing this alone. I am also excited to get this doctor-ball rolling. But right now, starting at the bottom and climbing out feels a bit insurmountable. I’ve been listening to a lot of music to quell my anxiety.

I know it’s been hard for us to keep in close touch these past couple of years and each of us went on our own journeys throughout the past few years, but I always think of you guys as being constants in my life; like touchstones that are only a grouptext away. Thanks for humoring me and keeping the EDC blog alive, even though Kat without cats forgot her password. 🙂 Who knows, maybe we’ll be able to convert this into an “EDC goes off to Residency” blog. In any case, it would be nice for us to have one last night in Ellensburg together, play poker, and eat many desserts. Maybe after graduation.

I am really looking forward to seeing you guys very soon,

Nari

One thought on “An Ode to EDC

Leave a Reply

